digital love

Music really is limitless. It is segregated by genres, but it can never be categorized. It expresses an artist’s imagination. I can confirm that completely when I heard this one song recommended by Shazam. Yes, Shazam, that app where it can identify any song (well, almost all) just by registering fragments of it and come up with results within seconds.

The other day, as I did a test to calibrate the app, Shazam sampled the song Digital Love by the time enduring elctronic music makers Daft Punk.

It started out funky, probably because the song came out in the early 2000’s. I can listen to the beat of the song itself for days. But then suddenly someone sang. The lyrics hit too close to home, at least for me. And I fell in love with the song immediately, Add to that was the music video. I can vividly remember Daft Punk playing on MTV when I was a kid and all their anime-like music videos and how I enjoyed every song I hear from them. Hence, time enduring. They never really make bad songs throughout the years. I may not follow them as much, but everytime I get the chance to hear songs they release later on, I always find myself jamming to it. They are just that good, I guess.

The lyrics went like this:

Last night I had a dream about you
In this dream, I’m dancing right beside you
And it looked like everyone was having fun
The kind of feeling I’ve waited so long


It was very similar to the story I made before:


I always had fascinations about dreams and how they are formed from pieces of reality to make this fantasy world that could either make you happy or scared. And as the title suggests, the protagonists basically had a dream that changed his life, or the next decisions and plans he would eventually take.

And similar to the lyrics above, the dream started out on an amusement park where everything was just joyful and jolly.

“Don’t stop, come a little closer
As we jam, the rhythm gets stronger
There’s nothing wrong with just a little little fun
We were dancing all night long”

Now, in the story, the man had a girlfriend in real life, who was absent during the dream. But he was with somebody else, another woman who he doesn’t really know personally. And all throughout the story, the woman insists that everything that was happening was just a dream, and everything isn’t real and would be gone once he wakes up.

With that in his mind, he decided to just go along with the dream. And as the lyrics suggests, “there was nothing wrong with just a little little fun”. He rode along with the dream knowing fully well that the woman he was with wasn’t his real girlfriend. “We were dancing all night long” also suggests that although there might not be literal dancing during his dream, he was still spending time with the woman all night long as he dreamt.

“The time is right to put my arms around you
You’re feeling right, you wrap your arms around too
But suddenly I feel the shining sun
Before I knew it, this dream was all gone”

The two get intimate with each other in the dream as they mutually feel like they should as a way to cherish the moment. They were feeling each other and were basically on the same page the whole time, even though they only met each other that during that dream.

And as all dreams go, it eventually ends. The man was woken up by a beam of sunlight that came from the window of their room and found his real girlfriend still sleeping beside him.

Ooh, I don’t know what to do
About this dream and you
I wish this dream comes true
Ooh, I don’t know what to do
About this dream and you
We’ll make this dream come true”

As soon as the man wakes up, everything he believed in and everything he felt was real suddenly was altered. He hadn’t looked at his girlfriend the same way. He was confused. He didn’t know what to do. The dream influenced him too much, he started thinking otherwise. He now wanted to make the dream he just had to be his reality; “I wish this dream comes true”.


Its just fascinating to me that there was this song all along that I completely had no clue existed and it perfectly described a story that I wrote years after. It just caught me off guard and got me emotional as I listen to it. I nearly shed a tear.

Anyways, I have a podcast where I completely open myself up to whoever is listening. Its on Spotify and Google Podcast, and I already uploaded some episodes on my YouTube channel.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started